Jack White rink wins annual Gore Bay curling bonspiel

Annual Gore Bay Curling Club men’s bonspiel winners are Bob Caddle, Angus MacDonald, Jack White and Dave McDermid.


GORE BAY—The Jack White rink won the annual Gore Bay curling club men’s bonspiel, held this past weekend.

The Jack White rink included Dave McDermid, Jack White, Bob Caddle and Angus MacDonald. They won the first event championship and for their efforts they were presented with the E.F. Priddle trophy, as well as a cash prize and mugs donated by Molly-Ann McLaughlin.

“The ice was awesome, and there was great competition,” stated Mr. White. “Thanks for such a great weekend.”

The White rink defeated the Peter Carter rink to win the first event championship. Other members of this rink included Eric Doner, John Zahnow and Lyle Strain.

In the second event the Max Burt skipped rink, which also included Brian Bell, Ted Kilpatrick and Bruce Wood, defeated the Joe Baker rink, which included Dan Marois, Alex Ingram and Andy Windsor.

The third event saw the Peter Bond rink defeat the Terry Addison rink in the final. The Bond rink included Reuben Allen, Harold Fox and John McCabe. The Terry Addison rink included Jeff Heitkamp, Marc Addison and Ian Mcleod.

“I would like to thank all the rinks who showed up this weekend for this event,” said Dan Marois, a member of the Gore Bay Curling Club board. He pointed out a total of 12 rinks took part from all over the Island. “Special thanks to the teams from Manitowaning and Little Current,” he said.

“I would like to thank Bill Riach for his work on the ice, as well as all the volunteers, and those who worked at the bar; and to Elva Carter and her crew from the kitchen. Thanks to everyone for coming out,” added Mr. Marois.