Duke Peltier seeks re-election as chief of Wikwemikong

WIKWEMIKONG—The list, as of July 10, is in for those seeking office in the August 16 election for chief and council of the Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve.

Duke Peltier is seeking re-election as chief while Bernadine A. Francis, Kenneth Jacko and Gladys Wakegijig are also looking to claim the top spot. Both Ms. Francis and Ms. Wakegijig are current members of council.

There are 55 residents who have come forward to fill the 12 seats of band council. They are: Amy Ann Assinewai, Lillian Baibomcowai-Dell, Amanda Beaudry, Dominic Beaudry, Loretta Cooper, Melissa D. Cooper, Angela Cooper-Shawanda, John James L.A. Dubé (incumbent), Lawrence Enosse (incumbent), Linda Eshkawkogan (Jackson), Lorraine A. Fox (incumbent), Bernadine A. Francis (incumbent), Ralph Kendall Gonawabi, Diane Jacko, Kenneth Jacko, Linda M. Kaboni, Agnes Kanasawe, Marc A.R. Kilchling, Mary Ellen Kitchikake, Valerie Lavallee, Todd S. Lewis, Eugene A. Manitowabi (incumbent), Jennifer (Jenni) Manitowabi, June Manitowabi, Margaret (Tish) Manitowabi (incumbent), Rachel Manitowabi, Ronald (Toke) Manitowabi, Lenore Manitowabi-Mayers, Debbie S. Mishibinijima, Mary Lynn Odjig-Ominikamigo, Jean Oshkabewisens (nee Trudeau), Barbara Anne Peltier, Brian D. Peltier, Chuck Peltier, Leonard Jason Anthony (J.P.) Peltier, Lyle Peltier, Mike Jon Peltier, Henry Pitawanakwat, Laurence Michael Pitawanakwat, Dennis R. Pitawanakwat, Cecilia Pitawanakwat-O’Connor (incumbent), Robbie Shawana, Karen Shawanda, Rose Shawanda, Jeffrey Toulouse, Adolphus Ignatius Trudeau, Randy S. Trudeau, Shelley Ann Trudeau, Maureen E. Trudeau-Manitowabi (incumbent), Gladys Wakegijig (incumbent), Luke Barry Wassegijig (incumbent), Jacob (Jack) Wemigwans, Madeline Loretta Wemigwans and Paul M. Williams.

Robert Corbiere is the only member of the current council to not run again for election.

The poll will be held at the Wikwemikong Band Office on Saturday, August 16 from 9 am until 8 pm with the votes counted the following day under the supervision of electoral officer Peggy Manitowabi.