Lew Lanktree Rink wins annual Mindemoya Men’s Curling Bonspiel

The Lew Lanktree Rink was the first event champions at the annual Mindemoya Men’s Curling Bonspiel held last weekend. In the photo, from left, is the winning team which included Dan Forest, Richard Whynot, Murray Haner and Lew Lanktree.

MINDEMOYA—The Lew Lanktree Local Rink won this past weekend’s annual Mindemoya Men’s Curling Bonspiel.

The Lew Lanktree skipped team, which also included vice Murray Haner, second Dan Forest and lead Rich Whynot were the winners of the first event. A Gore Bay Rink was the runner-up and was skipped by Terry Addison, with vice Jack Clark, second Marc Addison and lead Jim Thibault.

In the second event, a Manitoulin Secondary School (MSS) competitive team took the first place trophy. The rink included Bryce Mastelko of Little Current, vice Jordan Moore of Mindemoya, second Sean Patterson of Kagawong and lead Isaac Gosse of Mindemoya. A team from Espanola was runners-up in this event. The team ‘Toque La Gang,’ included skip Jim Brandow, vice Perry Lageroute, second Brent Carpenter and lead Dan Lacasse.

- Advertisement -

The third event saw a Mindemoya Rink take the first place prize. Darryl Vanhorn was skip of the rink, which also included Darren Smith as vice, second Mike Tann and lead Adam Smith. Runner up was the Jim Henderson Family Rink. Jim Henderson was skip, with vice Dave Henderson, second Fred Henderson and lead Gord Henderson.

The Mindemoya Curling Club has a couple more bonspiels coming up, the ladies spiel on January 29-31, (with room for one more team to enter) and the mixed spiel to be held on February 12-14.